PI: Dr. Frédérique T. Deiss

Associate Professor (August 2023 – present)

Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology
Indiana University Indianapolis (IU Indianapolis)
(formerly: Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis / IUPUI)

Member of Integrated Nanosystems Development Institute (INDI)

  • Assistant Professor; Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, 2015-2023
  • Post-doctoral fellow; University of Alberta, 2012-2015
  • Post-doctoral fellow; Harvard University, 2009-2012
  • Ingénieur ENSCPB, Bordeaux (France), 2006
  • Ph. D., University of Bordeaux, 2009

In 2006, Frédérique received the degree of Ingénieur from the National Engineering School of Physics and Chemistry of Bordeaux (ENSCPB), and a Science and Technology Master’s degree in Chemistry from the University of Bordeaux, France. She went on with a Ph.D. of the University of Bordeaux, in Chemistry-Physics, received in 2009 with high distinction, after three years of research under the supervision of Neso Sojic in the Analytical Nanosystems group. She developed optoelectrochemical micro- and nano-sensor arrays for bioanalytical applications at the tip of optical fiber bundles. (French Thesis) During her doctoral research, she has also been a visiting PhD student in various research groups including David R. Walt’s group (Tufts University, Medford, MA, USA), Paolo Ugo’s group (University of Venice, Italy), and Paolo Pastore’s group (University of Padova, Italy). She pursued her research activities as a postdoctoral fellow in the Whitesides group (Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA) developing, in particular, low-cost paper-based electrochemical diagnostic devices. In 2012, she joined the Derda group, where she continues to develop paper-based bio-analytical platforms.



photo of Philomena Olaniya
Philomena Olaniya
PhD student
(transferred Apr. 2024 present)

Photo of Maddie Page
Madison Page
PhD student
(Aug. 2022 present)

Photo of Oreoluwa Cherebin
Oreoluwa Cherebin
PhD student
(Sep. 2019 present)
*Obtained a Master (Chemistry) from IUPUI in August 2021*

Photo of Natalie Sellnau
Natalie Sellnau
PhD student
(Aug. 2019 – present)
*Obtained a Master (Forensic & Investigative Sciences, Chemistry) from IUPUI in August 2021*


Fayokunnumi (Precious) Femi-Alagbe
FYSA Program (Sep. 2023




Tommy Zhang
(Sep. 2021 June 2023)
*obtained a Master in Chemistry from IUPUI in May 2023
George Hedlund
(Aug. 2020 July 2023)
*obtained a Master in FIS Chemistry from IUPUI in June 2023
*graduated from IUPUI August 2021 with BS in Forensic & Investigative Sciences (Chemistry, Biology), BA in Chemistry, BA in Biology*
Carolina Guimaraes Vega
(Sep. 2018 – May 2023)
*obtained a PhD in Chemistry from IUPUI in April 2023
Armelle Metangmo
(Sep. 2015 – January 2020)
“Lab Assistant” Aug. 2019 – Jan. 2020
*Obtained a Master (Chemistry) from IUPUI in August 2019*
*graduated from IUPUI, with a BA Chemistry in May 2016*


Dr. Henok Baye Habtamu
(Jun. 2016 Jun. 2017)


Haley Gill
(Jan. 2020May 2022)
Kiyomi Kukoyi
(Aug. 2017
May 2020)
Violet Goodpaster
(Jan. 2019
Dec. 2019)
Monica Barron
(Dec. 2016
 – Jul. 2019) and IBRI Intern (Jan. 2018 Jul. 2019)
Maria ‘Regina’ Barron
(Dec. 2016
 – Jul. 2019) and IBRI Intern (Jan. 2018 Jul. 2019)
Jeremy Lucas
(May 2016
 – Dec. 2016; Jan. 2019May 2019)
Lakota Black
(Feb. 2018
Dec. 2018)
Gabriela Ovalle
(Mar.  2018
Aug. 2018)
David Wilkins
(Dec. 2016
 – Mar. 2018)
Rebecca Tefera
(Aug. 2017
Jan. 2018)
Emma Brown
(Aug. 2016
May 2017)
Sophia Bottoms
(Sep. 2016
 – Mar.
Kristen Powell
(Sep. 2016
Dec. 2016)
Daniel Collins
(Jun. 2016
Dec. 2016)
Kaylin Davis
(Oct. 2015 Aug. 2016)
Belinda Needham
(Oct. 2015
 – May 2016)
Gary Ballou
(Jan. 2016 – May 2016)
Shanda Armstrong
(Jan. 2016 – May 2016)


Mohamed Naji
(ACS SEED, Highschool Student; May
2018 Jul. 2018 and May 2019 – Jul. 2019)
Jade Jones
(NSF RETAIN, Highschool Teacher; May/
Jun. 2017 and Jun./Jul. 2018)
Shavonte Crayton
(NSF REU; May 2017 –
Jun. 2017)
Conor Matson
(Chemistry Master student, Sep. 2019 – Dec. 2020)
Isaac A. Taylor
(Master student, Sep. 2015 Jul. 2017)
Teresa Rose
(PhD student, Fall 2017)

Comments are closed.